Safety City

Welcome to the Melvin Martin Center for Children's Safety!

Safety City is an educational facility featuring a "child-size" town of miniature buildings, streets, crosswalks, functional traffic lights, sidewalks, a working railroad crossing, and a school bus. 

A state-of-the-art fire education center opened in September 2009 that allows firefighters to teach home fire safety, and to fill a room with simulated smoke, allowing children to practice escape plans and gather at a designated meeting location. Construction on a police education building was completed in March 2011. This building houses a new classroom with stadium style seating and interactive learning tools.

Night of Lights at Safety City 2023 Information

Night of Lights at Safety City

December 14-16 & December 21-23 from 6:30pm to 9:00pm

Celebrate the holiday season with the Abilene Fire Department at Safety City!

Learn More

About Safety City

Our Curriculum

Safety City’s curriculum is designed to teach our young people to recognize safety hazards found in everyday life and to learn to make wise choices when they are in situations which have the potential to cause them injury or harm. It is open to first and third grade school classes throughout the school year and to individuals, day care centers, recreation centers, church groups, etc. during the summer. 

Programs offered include:

  • Bicycle safety
  • Pedestrian safety
  • Fire prevention
  • Stranger awareness

Our History

Safety City is operated by the Abilene Police Department, the Abilene Fire Department and the Texas Department of Public Safety. Construction began on the facility in 1976 with contributions from donors in Abilene and the Big Country on land provided by the City of Abilene. The program began in October of 1981. Today, operations are funded by the City of Abilene with assistance from the Friends of Safety City and generous donors. Approximately 6,000-7,000 children and over 2,000 adults from 27 Texas counties receive programs offered by Safety City yearly.  Those 27 counties cover over 26,000 square miles!