A.C. Greene Award

The A.C. Greene Award was presented annually to a distinguished Texas author for lifetime achievement. The award was named for author, columnist, and Abilene native, A.C. Greene. The honored author was presented with a piece of original framed art, generously donated by the artist, H.C. Zachry.

This award was presented annually in conjunction with the West Texas Book Festival, which celebrated authors and reading in Texas in an annual series of events that ran from 2001-2019.

Past Award Recipients

2011 to 2019 Recipients

  1. 2019
  2. 2018
  3. 2017
  4. 2016
  5. 2015
  6. 2014
  7. 2013
  8. 2012
  9. 2011

James Ward Lee Receiving A.C. Greene AwardJames Ward Lee

James Ward Lee has been a past presenter at the West Texas Book Festival and he was named as the 2019 recipient of the A.C. Greene Award.  Lee is an emeritus professor and former chair of English at the University of North Texas and has authored many essays, reviews, and stories that have delighted readers for years.  He is a past president of the Texas Folklore Society and is a current member of the Texas Institute of Letters. He's authored many articles, books, and reviews that have made him a popular speaker and writer.

2001 to 2010 Recipients

  1. 2010
  2. 2009
  3. 2008
  4. 2007
  5. 2006
  6. 2005
  7. 2004
  8. 2003
  9. 2002
  10. 2001

Mike CoxMike Cox

Mike Cox the author of 17 books, including:

  • Accounts of Texas disasters and Texas UFO sightings
  • Two-volume history of the Texas Rangers
  • Three books of historic photos of Texas oil, lawmen and western heroes

A syndicated columnist, Cox's byline regularly appears in a number of national and statewide magazines.