Public Information Request
The Office of the City Secretary oversees requests for public information. The City has up to ten business days in which to respond to your request, pursuant to the Public Information Act, but will make every effort to process your request as soon as possible following receipt.
The request must ask for records or information already in existence. The Public Information Act does not require a governmental body to create new information, to do legal research, or to answer questions. (A Preface to the Public Information Handbook 2016, page i).
Read more about the Public Information Act (PDF).
Make an Information Request
To Request Information Online, Including Police Records
Please use our NextRequest system
If you cannot use this system, these are other methods of request.
Please be advised any requests received via email or in-person will be entered into NextRequest upon receipt.
- Emailing Public Information Requests
- In-Person for Government Records at:
555 Walnut Street
Abilene, TX 79601
- In-Person for Police Records at:
Abilene Police Department Records Division
4565 S 1st Street
Abilene, TX 79605
Information to Be Included in Your Request
- Date of the incident or document in question for which you seek information
- Date of Request
- Requestor’s Address
- Requestor’s Email Address
- Requestor’s Name
- Requestor’s Telephone Number
- The specific name of the business or individual you are seeking information about. If you do not have specific information then explain the facts surrounding your request that will help us to narrow the scope of the search.
- Where you would like your response sent
Required Itemized Estimate of Charges
Pursuant to the Public Information Act, Texas Government Code Chapter 522.2615, if a request for a copy of public information will result in the imposition of a charge that exceeds $40, or a request to inspect a paper record will result in the imposition of a charge under 552.271 that exceeds $40, the governmental body shall provide the requestor with a written itemized statement that details all estimated charges that will be imposed, including any allowable charges for labor or personnel costs. If an alternative less costly method of viewing the records is available, the statement must include a notice that the requestor may contact the governmental body regarding the alternative method.
The basic charge for copies of public information is currently 0.10 cents per page, $3 per DVD, and $1 per CD. Voluminous requests may also result in personnel costs, currently a flat rate of $15 per hour, and overhead charged at 20% of the total personnel costs for the request. The Office of the Attorney General has published a handbook interpreting the Texas Public Information Act. This handbook may be accessed online.