Free Medicare Classes @ Your Library

Learn the ABCD's of Medicare @ Your Library

All library locations will serve as host to monthly classes on Medicare, led by Jennifer Walter (PH: 325-669-5386) & Breanna Maichel (PH: 253-720-2862), two Medicare specialists. Each class offered will last 45-minutes to 1-hour, with the goal of providing seniors with the tools needed to be able to make the right decision going into Medicare.

About the Class

Do you know the A, B, C, D's of Medicare? This is a free educational seminar conducted by a Medicare Specialist. The goal of this seminar is to help you better understand Medicare and all of your options as you become eligible to be on Medicare. Here are a few of the topics we will cover directly from the Centers of Medicare Handbook;

  • Defining Medicare and it's parts
  • How and when to enroll in Medicare
  • Annual Enrollment & Special Enrollment periods
  • Medicare Health Plan Coverage Choices (Original Medicare/Supplements/Medicare Advantage)
  • Prescription Drug Plans
  • Do you qualify for extra help with your premiums and how to apply
  • What if you plan to keep working?
  • What if my spouse isn't on Medicare?
  • Other topics along with a Question & Answer session

Schedule of Class Offerings

Below is a list of scheduled classes offered, listed by available dates at each branch library.  When you see a date you'd like to attend, visit our Events Calendar for that date to register to attend; however, registration is not required to attend.

MAIN LIBRARY
202 Cedar St.
Abilene, TX 79601
SOUTH BRANCH LIBRARY
4310 Buffalo Gap Rd.
Abilene, TX 79606
MOCKINGBIRD BRANCH LIBRARY
1326 N. Mockingbird Ln.
Abilene, TX 79603
Saturday, September 18 at 10:00AM
Saturday, September 25 at 11:30AM
Thursday, October 14 at Noon
Saturday, October 23 at 10:00AM
Saturday, October 9 at 11:30AM
Friday, November 12 at Noon
Saturday, November 20 at 10:00AM
Tuesday, October 19 at Noon
Thursday, December 9 at Noon
Saturday, December 18 at 10:00AM
Saturday, November 6 at 11:30AM


Tuesday, November 16 at Noon

Saturday, December 4 at 11:30AM


Tuesday, December 14 at Noon