News Flash

City of Abilene - Highlights

Posted on: February 22, 2021

Taylor County added to federal disaster declaration

TAylor county added to disaster declaration

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) has approved an additional thirty-one Texas counties, including Taylor County, to be added to the President’s Major Disaster Declaration for Individual Assistance stemming from the record snowfall and extended deep freeze last week.

Texas Governor Greg Abbott made the announcement after initially requesting all 254 Texas counties be approved for Individual Assistance.

Inclusion in the Major Disaster Declaration allows Taylor County and its residents to qualify for a wide range of federal assistance programs for individuals and public infrastructure, including funds for both emergency and permanent work.

Before you apply for assistance, take the following steps:

  • Take photos of your damaged items and home. 

  • Make a list of damages

  • If you have insurance, you must file a claim before contacting FEMA. 

To apply for assistance:

Taylor County residents are urged to continue reporting damage from the winter storm event through the Texas Division of Emergency Management’s self-reporting survey, which can be found at  

Facebook Twitter Email