Yes. By visiting http://payabilene.com, citizens can search for their violation by last name, citation number, driver's license number or by vehicle information. Credit cards accepted are Master Card, Visa, American Express and Discover. Debit cards with the Visa or Master Card logo are also accepted.
Citizens who use this online service must pay for their tickets in full at the time of use if they have not already contacted Municipal Court and made arrangements for a payment plan.
Please note that paying tickets online will include a 5% processing fee, with a minimum fee of $2.95. It is the defendant's responsibility to make the payment to the right court and for the correct amount. If payment is rejected for any reason, the fine amount will be refunded but the processing fee will not. Please pay carefully.
For more information about this service, contact a Municipal Court representative at (325) 676-6333 Monday through Friday from 8:00 AM until 5:00 PM, excluding City holidays. You may also visit our offices at 4575 South 1st St.
To contest a parking citation, you must appear in person to request a parking hearing which will be conducted by a parking hearing officer. This hearing allows you to present your case to the officer for him or her to make a determination regarding your citation. A finding of guilty by the parking hearing officer may be appealed to an appeal officer.
The request must be made within 10 days from the date of the violation.
You must first enter a plea of not guilty.
This plea may be entered in one of two ways:
- You may personally appear in court and enter a plea of not guilty
- You may mail your plea of not guilty to Municipal Court prior to your appearance date
When you enter a plea of not guilty on a traffic citation, you will be listed on the Pre-trial Docket. The Pre-trial is an opportunity for the defendant to discuss the facts of the case with the City Attorney's Office in an effort to resolve the matter without a full trial. When you are issued a citation, an instructional sheet is attached explaining the procedures to contest a citation.
This option is subject to the Judge's approval and may or may not be granted.
Terms and Conditions: Pay court cost, serve out a probation for up to 180 days, and avoid conviction for a similar offense while on probation.
Other terms and conditions may be imposed by the Judge. Successful completion of the probation will result in the dismissal of the citation.
Yes. You must either appear in person, or forward a request by postal mail within 10 days from the date of the citation in order to be considered for the dismissal of a traffic citation by attending a defensive driving class.
You must provide a copy of your insurance certificate (or other form proving financial responsibility). The certificate must either be in your name, or show you listed as a driver on the policy. You must have a valid Texas driver's license, and you must pay the court costs for a regular citation (or if the violation was in a school zone).
If you have already taken a defensive driving course in the past year to keep a citation off of your record, you are not eligible to attend another class.
Defendants are required to hold a valid Class "C" Texas drivers license. Those who hold a CDL (Commercial Driver License) are not eligible.
For all exceptions that can disqualify someone for a defensive driving class, please contact a Municipal Court representative at (325) 676-6333.
To reschedule a pre-trial/trial date, requests must be submitted in writing at least 7 days prior to the date of your pre-trail/trial date. The judge must approve the request before the pre-trial/trial date may be reset.
If the judge grants the request, then the court will send a notice of the new appearance date and time.
If the judge denies the request, you will be expected to appear as originally scheduled. Failure to appear could cause a new citation to be issued with a warrant for your arrest.
If you have been notified by Municipal Court or one of the Court Marshals that you have a warrant for your arrest, you should appear in Municipal Court immediately regarding the citation. The court is a safe harbor; IF YOU VOLUNTARILY APPEAR IN COURT YOU WILL NOT BE ARRESTED.
Failure to appear in court when you have a warrant could result in your arrest, regardless of the location where you are contacted. Locations may include such places as your location of employment, your home, your school, or even during a traffic stop by law enforcement.
If you are concerned that you may have a Municipal Court warrant, you can check the list shown on the Warrants List or call us at (325) 676-6333.
Jury Duty FAQs
- Be at least 18 years of age.
- Be a citizen of this state and a resident of the county in which you are to serve as juror.
- Be qualified under the Constitution and laws to vote in the county in which you are to serve as a juror (Note: you Do Not have to be registered to vote to be qualified to vote)
- Be of sound mind and good moral character.
- Be able to read and write.
- Not have served as a juror for six (6) days during the preceding three (3) months in the county court or during the preceding six (6) months in the district court.
- Not have been convicted of a felony or theft offenses
- Not be under indictment or other legal accusation of a misdemeanor theft, felony theft, or any other felony charge
- You are over 70 years of age
- You have legal custody of a child under 10 years of age and jury service would require leaving the child or children without adequate supervision.
- You are a student at a public or private high school.
- You are enrolled and attend college
- You are an officer or an employee of the senate, the House of Representatives or any department, commission, board, office, or other agency in the legislative branch of state government.
- You are the primary caretaker of a person who is unable to care for himself or herself. (This exemption does not apply to health care workers.) You are not required to claim an exemption. It is your choice.
- On active duty and deployed, away from the person's home station, and out of the person's county of residence.
If you fall into one of the above categories and you wish to be excused from jury service, you will need to complete and sign the bottom portion of your Jury Summons and mail or fax it promptly to the address shown.
The judge MUST grant the only other excuses from jury service. If you are in doubt, or think you may not be qualified to serve on a jury for one of the above or any other reasons, please notify the Judge.
If you will be unable to be present for jury service and you do NOT fall within one of the categories above, you will be required to mail or fax your reason for not being present for jury service. The letter must include a telephone number where you can be notified of the judge’s decision on normal business days between 8:00 a.m. and 5:00 p.m.
The fax number is (325) 676-6286 or mail to:
Abilene Municipal Court
P. O. Box 60
Abilene, Texas 79604
- Fails to attend court in obedience to the notice without reasonable excuse;
- Files a false claim of exemption from jury service.
- Criminal Cases: A criminal case results when a person is accused of committing a crime. You, as a Juror, must decide whether the person charged is guilty or not guilty. The accused person is presumed innocent, and the State, must prove guilty “beyond a reasonable doubt.”
- Civil Cases: A civil case results from a disagreement or dispute between two or more parties. In a civil case, you, as a juror, must answer questions of disputed facts based upon the testimony and evidence admitted by the Judge. The answers to these questions are called the verdict. NOTE: MUNICIPAL COURT DOES NOT HEAR CIVIL CASES.